Fine Art Graduates show in neo:artprize 2019

neo: are really excited about the relaunch of the neo:artprize in 2019, in partnership with Bolton Council. With over 50 artworks from 39 contemporary artists working across the world and using a whole range of media, the quality of the diverse and vibrant entries for the prize really impressed the distinguished judges, who were:

Jordan Baseman:
 Reader in Time Based Media, Senior Tutor in Moving Image at the Royal College of Art, London

Sacha Craddock: Art Critic and Curator

William Lunn: Director, Copperfield, London

Helen Wewiora: Director, Castlefield Gallery & Agency, Manchester

This year’s prizes were generously donated by the following sponsors: The University of Bolton, GreatArt, Alec Tiranti, John Purcell Paper, Screenstretch and Bolton Council for The Bolton Museum Gallery Award.

The neo:artprize is part of a series of high profile international open exhibitions, facilitated by Bolton based neo:studios, a not-for-profit artist-led organisation founded in 2007.

The success of previous prizes together with the introduction of a 12-week residency sponsored by the University of Bolton offered to new graduates, ensures that the quality of submissions continues to rise.

The prize is an international, open exhibition, attracting submissions from over 25 countries from all 5 continents, aiming to raise awareness of new trends and directions in the contemporary art world, and provide a platform for artists to showcase excellence and innovation, bringing to Bolton the best contemporary art from around the world.

The neo:artprize 2019 exhibition will be held in the Bolton Museum Gallery.

Bolton Council deputy leader, Cllr Martyn Cox, said: “I am delighted that Bolton Museum is supporting this high-profile exhibition, which is bringing artists from nine different countries and four continents here to Bolton.”

“This is a rare opportunity to see work by some of the most interesting contemporary artists, all in one place.”

“We are fortunate to have this exhibition in our town and I urge everyone to come along and have a look.”

Lauren Curl, Enzo Marra, Shir Handelsman, Cherry Tenneson, Jo Clements, Alan Ward, Narbi Price, Christy Burdock, Charlie Yetton, Janette Byrne, Fernando Holguin Cereceres, Marianne Walker, Carole Reed, Teresa Wilson, Nayeon Kang, Aija Elina Nieminen, Gunhild Thomson, Liam S. Mertens, Steph Huang, Abid Aslam, Mark Houghton, Genevieve Chua, Matt Davies, Mollie Balshaw, Molly Thomson, Katie Tomlinson, Claire Mont Smith, Rowland Hill, Sue Cohen, Guildor, James Cross,  Charlotte Dawson, Garth Gratrix, Olivia Rowland, Haley Morris-Cafiero, Claudia Miller, Marie Jones, Richard Baker and Tom Railton


07 September – 27 October 2019

Viewing times:

Monday-Tuesday: 9am – 5pm
Wednesday: 9:30am – 5pm
Thursday-Saturday: 9am – 5pm
Sunday: 10am – 4pm

Bolton Museum
Le Mans Crescent
Bolton BL1 1SE

Published by boltonunifineart

Fine Art, Bolton. We are Artists. Scholars. We experiment. We research. We make art. Bolton School of The Arts. University of Bolton.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: